Meet the TRCA 2022 Contenders

CCRCE’s TRCA Committee has shortlisted five books for the 2022 Teen Reader’s Choice Award. The winner will be announced 17 May 2022. The 2022 finalists are:

Barry Squires, Full Tilt by Heather Smith
Concrete Rose by Angie Thomas
Gone to the Woods: Surviving a Lost Childhood by Gary Paulsen
Superman Smashes the Klan by Gene Luen Yang; illustrations by Gurihiru
These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong

The 2022 TRCA Committee selected the finalists from a list of seventy titles. After months spent reading and discussing these suggestions, a selection was made. The selected titles include a quirky romp through the streets of St. John’s; a trip to Garden Heights seventeen years before the events of The Hate U Give; a riveting survival memoir from literary legend Gary Paulsen; a clever graphic novel addressing issues of race and identity; and a deliciously dark twist on Romeo and Juliet promising glitter, suspense, gore, and more.

Heather Smith author of Barry Squires, Full Tilt

Heather Smith is a Canadian author. Originally from Newfoundland, Heather now lives in Waterloo, Ontario, with her husband and three children. Heather is the author of several books for children and young adults including her YA novel, The Agony of Bun O’Keefe, which won the 2019 White Pine Award, and this year’s TRCA nominee, Barry Squires, Full Tilt.

According to Smith, once a reluctant reader, she draws on her own experiences while writing. This is evident as Barry Squires, Full Tilt is speckled with details that convey the uniqueness of Newfoundland.

Angie Thomas author of Concrete Rose

Angie Thomas, a native of Jackson, Mississippi, was encouraged to take up writing after a trip with her mother to the local library. Initially intending to write fantasy and middle grade novels, Angie came to realize that she wanted her work to show truth and tear down stereotypes. The Hate U Give, her New York Times bestselling novel, was written to draw attention to the controversial issue of police brutality and the Black Lives Matter movement. Concrete Rose, her third novel, revisits the character of Maverick, first introduced in The Hate U Give.

Gary Paulsen author of Gone to the Woods: Surviving a Lost Childhood

Born in Minneapolis, Minnesota, Gary James Paulsen (May 17, 1939 – October 13, 2021) was an American writer of children’s and young adult fiction. According to Paulsen, best known for wilderness stories, he developed his love for reading at a young age.

During his lifetime Paulsen wrote more than 175 books and 200 articles. In 1997 he won the Margaret A. Edwards Award given by the American Library Association for his lifetime achievement in young adult literature. Prior to his passing, Paulsen spent time between his home in Alaska, his ranch in New Mexico, and his sailboat on the Pacific Ocean.

Gene Luen Yang author of Superman Smashes the Klan

Gene Luen Yang is an American graphic novelist. As the Library of Congress’ fifth National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature, he advocates for the importance of reading, especially reading diversely.

A native of California, Yang attended the University of California, Berkeley for his undergraduate degree. He wanted to major in art but his father encouraged him to pursue a more “practical” field so Yang majored in computer science with a minor in creative writing. Since graduating, Yang has worked as a computer engineer, high school teacher, and cartoonist.

Gurihiru illustrator of Gene Luen Yang’s graphic novel Superman Smashes the Klan

Gurihiru is a Japanese illustration team, consisting of Chifuyu Sasaki, who does penciling and inking, and Naoko Kawano, who does coloring. Both originating from Sapporo, Japan, they are currently based in Saitama, mainly working as artists for American comics.

The two women are art school graduates who worked as web designers and art museum receptionists prior to their work in comics. After entering a manga competition, they were advised to contact U.S. comics publishers, and they have since illustrated many American comics and graphic novels.

Chloe Gong author of These Violent Delights

Chloe Gong is the New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights and its sequel Our Violent Ends. She is a recent graduate of the University of Pennsylvania, where she double-majored in English and International Relations. Born in Shanghai and raised in Auckland, New Zealand, Chloe is now located in New York.

Members of the 2022 TRCA Committee are: Eve Trainer, Jan Matthews, Matt Cole, Myrna Allen, and Susan Cochrane.

2021 TRCA Winner

The results are in! 288 votes were cast and the winner is I Killed Zoe Spanos by Kit Frick. Described as “an atmospheric and creepy page-turner’” Frick’s novel received 30 percent of the vote. Frick is also the author of All Eyes on Us and See All the Stars.

Voting ended on Friday, June 4th, and CCRCE library staff is pleased to announce the following results.

I Killed Zoe Spanos by Kit Frick (89)
They Called Us Enemy by George Takei (69)
Burn by Patrick Ness (65)
The Downstairs Girl by Stacey Lee (39)
Genesis Begins Again by Alicia D. Williams (26)

2020 Winner

The results are in! 145 votes were cast and the winner is Monday’s Not Coming by Tiffany D. Jackson. In this YA thriller, author Jackson spins a tale of murder, neglect, and systemic racism, all told through the lens of a middle school aged girl. Jackson is also the author of Allegedly and Let Me Hear a Rhyme. Her fourth title, Grown, will be released on September 15, 2020.

As a result of Covid-19, we had to switch things up regarding the 2020 Teen Reader’s Choice Award. Because we understand the importance of literacy and the joy of reading, it was decided to continue with this year’s award program although in a different format. All five of the TRCA titles were available through various locations as ebooks or audiobooks and this information was relayed to CCRCE staff and students. The voting period was also extended this year and made available online at our blog.

Voting ended on Saturday, June 6th, and CCRCE library staff is pleased to report that 145 students cast their votes. The results are as follows.

  • Monday’s Not Coming by Tiffany D. Jackson (45)
  • Sweep: The Story of a Girl and Her Monster by Jonathan Auxier (43)
  • Pumpkinheads by Rainbow Rowell, illustrated by Faith Erin Hicks (26)
  • The Field Guide to the North American Teenager by Ben Philippe (18)
  • The Unwanted: Stories of the Syrian Refugees by Don Brown (13)

CCRCE Library Services would like to extend a huge thank you to all participating students for making this program a great success regardless of the coronavirus epidemic. It couldn’t have happened without you!

“The Conference of the Birds” by Ransom Riggs

There is a brand-new book in the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series. Book 5, The Conference of Birds, follows Jacob as he takes on a mission to deliver newly contacted peculiar Noor Pradesh to an operative known only as V. But V is in hiding and she never, ever, wants to be found.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children was a 2013 TRCA nominee. A sequel, titled Hollow City, was released in January 2014. The third installment in the Miss Peregrine’s series, titled Library of Souls, was released in September 2015. A Map of Days was released in 2018 and this was followed by The Conference of Birds

Tales of the Peculiar—the collection of fairy tales known to hide information about the peculiar world, including clues to the locations of time loops—first introduced in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children was published in September 2016. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and Hollow City have both been released as graphic novels.